Homeland Security Watch

News and analysis of critical issues in homeland security

November 14, 2006

Senate HSGAC adds new Dems

Filed under: Congress and HLS — by Christian Beckner on November 14, 2006

The Senate Democratic leadership announced committee assignments for the 110th Congress today. Sen. Joe Lieberman will chair the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, and the other Democratic members of the committee will be as follows:

Carl Levin, Michigan
Daniel Akaka, Hawaii
Thomas Carper, Delaware
Mark Pryor, Arkansas
Mary Landrieu, Louisiana
Barack Obama, Illinois
Claire McCaskill, Missouri
Jon Tester, Montana

Levin, Akaka and Carper are in line to chair the HSGAC investigations, financial management, and government management / workforce subcommittees respectively. The latter four members are new to the committee, filling two slots due to departing members (Mark Dayton, who is retiring, and Frank Lautenberg, who decided to leave the committee) and two slots due to changed committee ratios.

It will be interesting to see what role these new members play on the committee. Sen. Landrieu is likely to use the committee to monitor progress on post-Katrina recovery efforts. Sen. McCaskill is likely to leverage her experience as state auditor (where she audited Missouri’s homeland security efforts in a report earlier this year) as a basis for work on issues with a federal-state nexus. And if Sen. Obama decides to run for President, it will be interesting to see if and how he leverages a role on the HSGAC to strengthen his national profile.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • Print
  • LinkedIn

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>